Keralites welcome Priyanka Gandhi to contest from Wayanad

Wayand, June 17 (UNI) The Congress leaders and workers of the United Democratic Front (UDF) unanimously welcomed the decision of the AICC to field Priyanka Gandhi in Wayanad Lok Sabha seat, in the wake of Rahul Gandhi leaving the Wayanad seat and decided to retain the Raebareli Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh.

KPCC president K Sudhakaran and Opposition leader V DS Satheeshan welcomed Priyanka Gandhi to contest from Wayanad in the by-election, while IUML State President Panakkad Syed Sadiq Ali Shahib Thangal has said that Priyanka Gandhi will win by a huge margin from Wayanad in the forthcoming by-election . He also said the presence of Priyanka Gandhi at Lok Sabha will strengthen the INDIA bloc at the Lok Sabha to oppose the BJP-led Union Government.

The Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) also got a chance to send a woman representative to Lok Sabha from Kerala, even though they won 17 seats out of 20 Lok Sabha seats from Kerala.

Meanwhile, the CPI national women leader and the Left Democratic Front (LDF) Candidate Annie Raja , who lost to Rahul Gandhi in 2024 Lok Sabha election from Wayanad Parliamentary constituency has said the Congress party has taken a suitable stance to vacate Rahul Gandhi from Wayanad and to field Priyanka Gandhi there. She also opined that the Congress party should have informed the people of Wayanad that Rahul Gandhi would contest from Raebareli before the election .

At present the service of Rahu Gandhi has been needed to Northern India to strengthen the INDIA bloc and to fight against the BJP. Annie Raja said the LDF will decide the next candidate to contest against Priyanka Gandhi. CPI State Secretary Binoy Viswom said their party candidate will contest from Wayanad seat in the coming by-election.

BJP State President K Surendran, who contested against Rahul Gandhi for NDA, has said that Rahul Gandhi cheated the people of Wayanad by leaving the seat .

Rahul Gandhi won with a huge margin of 3.6 lakhs votes in 2024 LS elections, but he managed a victory of 4.3 lakh votes in 2019 elections from Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency.

Leave a Reply