India opt to bat first in T20 World Cup title clash against SA

Barbados, June 29 (UNI) In a showdown set at Kensington Oval here on Saturday, India has seized the advantage by winning the toss and opting to bat first against South Africa in the exhilarating T20 World Cup 2024 final.

Captain Rohit Sharma exuded confidence in their decision, citing the pitch’s promising conditions and their familiarity with the venue. “We’re going to bat first, looks like a good pitch,” Sharma remarked. “Understanding individual roles is key; it’s crucial to stay composed and treat this like any other international match against a strong opponent.”

India, renowned for their depth and resilience, maintains an unchanged lineup, relying on individual brilliance to overcome a formidable South African side.

In contrast, South African captain Aiden Markram acknowledged the dry pitch but remained optimistic about their bowling prowess after winning the toss. “Would’ve batted first as well, looks dry,” Markram noted. “While perfection is elusive, we aim to come close. There’s no pressure; it’s our first final, and we intend to relish the moment and perform at our peak.”

South Africa, unchanged from their victorious semi-final, seeks to harness their consistent tournament form to challenge India’s dominance in this pivotal encounter.

The stage is set for a clash between the tournament’s top two unbeaten teams, reinforcing their status as the best. India continues with their steadfast approach, bolstered by unleashing a potent three-pronged spin attack upon arrival in the Caribbean.

Rohit Sharma’s formidable form at the top, coupled with Virat Kohli’s looming breakthrough, adds potency to their opening partnership.

Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant and Suryakumar Yadav have thrived in the middle-order, complemented by the power-hitting duo of Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dube. The trio of left-arm spinners has excelled, with Arshdeep Singh’s dominance in the powerplay and Hasprit Bumrah’s unrivaled class further fortifying India’s arsenal.

For South Africa, Quinton de Kock’s timely resurgence has provided crucial starts amidst his partner’s struggle for form. Yet, the team’s middle-order frailties, particularly Aiden Markram’s pivotal role, demand a definitive response in the final.

While batting concerns persist, South Africa’s bowling unit remains their pillar of strength. Spin maestros Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi have been pivotal, while pacers Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, and Anrich Nortje continue to uphold their aggressive ethos, ensuring a well-rounded challenge.


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock (w), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram (c), Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

Leave a Reply