India opt to bat against Afghanistan as both teams make key changes

Bridgetown, June 20 (UNI) In a Super 8 match at the T20 World Cup, India won the toss and elected to bat against Afghanistan here on Thursday.

India enters the encounter unbeaten in the tournament so far, although they faced stiff challenges from Pakistan and USA in earlier matches. Meanwhile, Afghanistan cruised past three opponents but suffered a heavy defeat at the hands of the Windies.

The wicket at Barbados presents a new challenge for India, quite different from the conditions encountered in New York. Notably, in the previous game between Australia and England, the former posted a formidable total of 201 runs, suggesting that a high-scoring affair could be on the cards.

The Indian camp has opted for a strategic alteration, bringing in Kuldeep Yadav in place of Mohammed Siraj. This change underscores India’s intent to optimize their bowling arsenal against a formidable Afghan lineup.

Meanwhile, Afghanistan has also tinkered with their lineup, replacing Karim Janat with Hazratullah Zazai. This adjustment reflects Afghanistan’s strategic shift as they aim to counter India’s formidable batting lineup with a mix of experience and firepower.

India Captain Rohit Sharma expressed confidence in his team’s ability to adapt to the conditions quickly and noted that the pitch appeared promising, but might slow down as the match progresses.

Rohit emphasised the importance of understanding the nuances of playing in Bridgetown.

On the other side, Afghanistan captain Rashid Khan expressed his preference to bat first but seemed content with the team’s preparation and mindset.

Both teams seem geared up for an exciting clash, with India aiming to put up a formidable total while Afghanistan seeks to contain their opponents with their strong bowling lineup.


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan(c), Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Leave a Reply