Ind-SL Asia Cup finals rescheduled for 3.40 pm start due to rain

Colombo, Sep 17 (UNI) The Asia Cup finals between India and Sri Lanka has been rescheduled to a 3.40 pm start due to a very short spell of rains at R Premadasa Stadium here on Sunday.

Just after the toss, a short spell of rain delayed the scheduled start at 3 pm.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first.

India brought in Washington Sundar in place of the injured Axar Patel, while Sri Lanka brought in Dushan Hemantha in place of Maheesha Theekshana.

“We would have batted first too. The pitch looks dry. However, we are confident of chasing down whatever Sri Lanka put on the board,” India Captain Rohit Sharma said.

“This is a good chance to go aggressive with the ball and see what the surface has to offer. We came really close last game, anything about 240 on this surface is good. Our job today is to do well with the ball, and then see what we can do with the bat,” he added.


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul(w), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis(w), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka(c), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana.

Leave a Reply