Asia Cup: Pak win toss, elect to bowl, KL Rahul returns

Colombo, Sep 10 (UNI) Pakistan won the toss and elected to bowl against India in the third Super 4 match of the Asia Cup at R Premadasa Stadium here on Sunday.

India made two changes. Jasprit Bumrah is back into the team after returning from India where he had been for the birth of his first child Angad. Captain Rohit Sharma forced a change by bringing in KL Rahul in place of Shreyas Iyer who is suffering from back spasm.

Speaking after the toss, Rohit said he was looking to bat first anyway, and admitted the challenge lying upfront and expressed confidence in the team, keeping in view the way they batted in the last match against Pakistan.

“Every game is important for us, but one thing at a time to focus on,” he said.

On rain delays, the Captain said, “That’s the nature of the sport, it gave us good time to prepare and now we’ll look to play well.”


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan(w), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Pakistan (Playing XI): Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam(c), Mohammad Rizwan(w), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf.

Leave a Reply