Home  |  Advertise  |  Contact Us
3:21 pm - Monday March 18, 9050

Yogi takes over as 32nd CM of UP

Agencies, Lucknow

Yogi Adityanath, BJP Gorakhpur MP, today took over as the 32nd Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh along with his two Deputies and a strong 44-member Council of Ministers. Along with Yogi, two Deputy Chief Ministers, Keshav Prasad Maurya (BJP President of UP) and Dr Dinesh Sharma (Lucknow Mayor), also took the oath of office.

Among the Council of Ministers, 22 have been given the Cabinet berth, nine Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and rest 13 as Ministers of State. State Governor, Ram Naik, administered the oath of office at a gracious function held at the Kanshi Ram Smriti Upvan in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah and other VVIPs including several CMs of the NDA-ruled states, Governors, Union Ministers and others.

Yogi and his two Deputies took oath in Hindi. The new CM, after taking oath, shook hands with PM, Governor and other senior leaders. The Ministry is being considered as balanced with 25 upper caste Ministers including the CM, 14 backwards besides minorities getting two berth with one to a Muslim and another to a Sikh.

Three Dalits also made a place in the Council of Ministers, one in the Cabinet rank and two as Ministers of State. Eight turncoats, who switched over to BJP and won the elections, were also accommodated in the Council of Ministers. Four women also made their place in the Council. Outgoing Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav of Samajwadi Party and former CM of UP and Uttarakhand ND Tiwari were also present in the function.

SP patron and founder Mulayam Singh was also present and had some close moment with PM after the oath. Senior BJP leaders LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi and other leaders were present too. BJP gets power in UP exactly after 15 years and eleven days.

The last BJP CM was Rajnath Singh, a Thakur, who resigned on March 8, 2002 after loosing the Assembly polls and now another Thakur takes the charge. The Governor administered the oath of office to the Council of Ministers of the BJP Ggovernment.

One each berth has also been given to the alliance partners Suheldeo Bharatiya Samaj Party and Apna Dal (Sonelal). Om Prakash Rajbhar, president of Suheldeo Bharatiya Samaj Party was given a Cabinet berth while Jai Kumar Singh of Apna Dal (Sonelal) was made Minister of State. A Muslim Moshin Raza was made the Minister thus ending the speculation that there would be no representation of the Muslims in the Government.

Posted in: Featured, Nation

You might like:

Bangladesh’s Shakib, Nurul fined following Friday fracas Bangladesh’s Shakib, Nurul fined following Friday fracas
‘Appy Fizz’ announces Salman Khan as brand’s new face ‘Appy Fizz’ announces Salman Khan as brand’s new face
‘Black mail’ makers launched ‘Badla’ song wth pomp! ‘Black mail’ makers launched ‘Badla’ song wth pomp!
Kriti Sanon signed for ‘Housefull 4’ Kriti Sanon signed for ‘Housefull 4’