Home  |  Advertise  |  Contact Us
6:43 pm - Tuesday February 20, 2018

India prevail in thriller to seal series 2-1

Agencies, Kanpur

‘India beat New Zealand by six runs’ , during the final of the three ODI series, thus winning the series 2-1 here on Sunday at the Green Park Stadium. The Indian bowlers kept their mind cool in the death overs snatching victory against the Black caps in a nail biting match here.

Chasing a huge 338-run target, New Zealand managed 331 for seven in their allotted 50 overs. Colin Munro (75), skipper Kane Williamson (64) and Tom Latham (65) were the star performers for New Zealand.

For India, pacer Jasprit Bumrah took three wickets while leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal scalped two wickets. New Zealand needed 15 runs off the last over. Kohli’s decision of giving the ball to the death-over specialist Bumrah worked perfectly for India as the right-arm pacer hardly gave anything away.

Bumrah conceded just eight runs in the final over to deny Kiwis a series win. Put in to bat, India rode on centuries from Rohit Sharma and captain Virat Kohli.

A brilliant performance from Rohit and skipper Virat helped India post a daunting 337/6. Rohit was the top scorer for India with 147 runs while Kohli slammed 113 to cross the milestone of 9,000 ODI runs.

Rohit struck his 15th century in ODIs, the fifth of this year and the first against New Zealand. Kohli slammed his 32nd ton and the fifth against the visitors to help India score the highest total in 15 ODIs here. The previous best was 303 by South Africa against India in 2015.

It was also Kohli’s sixth century in 2017, the most by a captain in a year. Previously, Sourav Ganguly (2000), Australia’s Ricky Ponting (2003, 2007), South Africa’s Graeme Smith (2005) and AB de Villiers (2015) struck five.



India innings:

Rohit Sharma c Southee & b Santner 147, Shikhar Dhawan c Williamson & b Southee 14, Virat Kohli (c) c Williamson & b Southee 113, Hardik Pandya c Southee & b Santner 8, MS Dhoni (wk) c Munro & b Milne 25, Kedar Jadhav c Guptill & b Milne 18, Dinesh Karthik not out 4.

Extras: 8.

Total: 337/6.

Bowling: Tim Southee 10-0-66-2, Trent Boult 10-0-81-0, Adam Milne 10-0-64-2, Colin de Grandhomme 8-0-57-0, Mitchell Santner 10-0-58-2, Colin Munro 2-0-10-0.


New Zealand innings:

Martin Guptill c Karthik & b Bumrah 10, Colin Munro b Chahal 75, Kane Williamson (c) c Dhoni & b Chahal 64, Ross Taylor c Kedar Jadhav & b Bumrah 39, Tom Latham (wk) runout (Bumrah) 65, Henry Nicholls b Bhuvneshwar 37, Colin de Grandhomme not out 8, Mitchell Santner c Dhawan & b Bumrah 9, Tim Southee not out 4.

Extras: 20.

Total: 331/7.

Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 10-0-92-1, Jasprit Bumrah 10-0-47-3, Hardik Pandya 5-0-47-0, Axar Patel 7-0-40-0, Kedar Jadhav 8-0-54-0, Yuzvendra Chahal 10-0-47-2.

Posted in: Featured, Sports

You might like:

Fans flood pitch with  tennis balls in Bundesliga Monday night protest Fans flood pitch with tennis balls in Bundesliga Monday night protest
Rohit Shetty to launch animated series ‘Little Singham’ in April Rohit Shetty to launch animated series ‘Little Singham’ in April
Music of ‘Shadi Teri Bajayenge Hum Band’ launched Music of ‘Shadi Teri Bajayenge Hum Band’ launched
Minissha Lamba to play ‘Vishkanya’ in ‘Tenali Rama’ Minissha Lamba to play ‘Vishkanya’ in ‘Tenali Rama’