Home  |  Advertise  |  Contact Us
6:44 am - Wednesday March 21, 2018

India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets

Nidahas Trophy

Agencies, Colombo

Chasing down 153 runs, India registered their second win of the tournament by beating Sri Lanka here fourth T20I of the Nidahas Trophy on Sunday night.

An unbeaten 68-run stand between Manish Pandey (42) and Dinesh Karthik (39) helped India to defeat Sri Lanka by six wickets.Chasing a target of 153 runs in 19 overs, India lost captain Rohit Sharma and in-form opener Shikhar Dhawan early in the innings.

But KL Rahul who was included in the XI for the first time in the series along with Suresh Raina steadied the ship for India.

The two batsmen put on 40 runs for the third wicket before Raina got out. Rahul was later dismissed hit wicket for 18 when the team score read 85/4.

But Manish and Dinesh Karthik made sure that India don’t lose any more wickets and the two players stitched an unbeaten partnership of 68 runs to guide India home.

India had earlier defeated Bangladesh. This is the second win of Team India.
Earlier sent into bat, Kusal Mendis once again shone bright for Sri Lanka scoring 55 off 38 balls with the help of three fours and as many sixes before Indian bowlers led by Thakur brought their side back into the game with wickets at regular intervals.

Thakur returned with impressive figures of 4/27, while young off-spinner Washinton Sundar (2/21) scalped two wickets as India made a strong fightback after leaking runs in the first 10 overs.

Vijay Shankar (1/30), Yuzvendra Chahal (1/34) and Jaydev Unadkat (1/33) also accounted for a wicket each.

But initially it looked Rohit Sharma’s decision to bowl first backfired as Sri Lanka got off to a flier scoring 24 runs off the first two overs.Left-arm pacer Unadkat was taken to the cleaners as he gave away 15 runs in the first over.

But India pulled things back bit with two wickets in back-to-back overs.
Thakur gave India the breakthrough when he dismissed Danushka Gunathilaka (17) in the third over with Suresh Raina taking a stunning catch at midwicket.


Sri Lanka innings: Danushka Gunathilaka c Raina & b SN Thakur 17, Kusal Mendis c Rohit & b Chahal 55, Kusal Perera bowled Washington Sundar 3, Upul Tharanga bowled Vijay Shankar 22, Thisara Perera c Chahal & b SN Thakur 15, Jeevan Mendis bowled Washington Sundar 1, Dasun Shanaka c Karthik & b SN Thakur 19, Akila Dananjaya c Rahul & b Unadkat 5, Suranga Lakmal not out 5, Dushmantha Chameera c Unadkat & b SN Thakur 0, Nuwan Pradeep not out 0.

Extras: 10. Total: 152/9.

Bowling: Jaydev Unadkat 3-0-33-1, Washington Sundar 4-0-21-2, Shardul Thakur 4-0-27-4, Yuzvendra Chahal 4-0-34-1, Vijay Shankar 3-0-30-1, Suresh Raina 1-0-6-0.

India innings: Rohit Sharma c Kusal Mendis b Akila Dananjaya 11, Shikhar Dhawan c Thisara Perera b Akila Dananjaya 8, Lokesh Rahul Hit Wicket b Jeevan Mendis 18. Suresh Raina c Thisara Perera b Nuwan Pradeep 27, Manish Pandey not out 42, Dinesh Karthik not out 39.

Extras: 8. Total: (17.3 overs) 153-4.

Bowling: Suranga Lakmal 2-0-19-0, Akila Dananjaya 4-0-19-2, Dushmantha Chameera 3-0-33-0, Nuwan Pradeep 2.3-0-30-1, Jeevan Mendis 4-0-34-1, Thisara Perera 2-0-17-0.

Posted in: Sports

You might like:

Man shoots uncle, cousin for refusing money for liquor Man shoots uncle, cousin for refusing money for liquor
BCCI opposes ICC’s proposal of changing Champions Trophy format BCCI opposes ICC’s proposal of changing Champions Trophy format
Lecture series on ‘Sanatan’ tradition organized Lecture series on ‘Sanatan’ tradition organized
Palestinian President attacks Hamas, calls U.S. ambassador “son of a dog” Palestinian President attacks Hamas, calls U.S. ambassador “son of a dog”